History

Today, GLADT is an organization of Black Queers and Queers of Color with and without their own history of immigration. The association has a long and diverse history, which began in the late 90s and initiated and conducted many discussions on “Queer” and “of color” in Berlin.

In many German cities, there were already in the mid-80s individuals, groups and networks of black and/or immigrants who dealt with issues of feminism, as well as equal rights for lesbians and gays, and later on, for trans* and inter* people.

 

From the Berlin Türkgay group, which was formed at the end of the 90s, the association GLADT was developed up until the year of 2003, leading discussions about gender(identity) as well as racism and nationalism, even before its foundation. It was by no means clear that a group of Turkish gay men was sensitized to internal diversity – what did it mean to be a woman*, a trans* person or a Kurdish person? Was the group really “open” to everyone, as they claimed? It was also argued whether the emerging association should comment on religious issues – the 9/11 attacks on the year of 2001 followed by the rapidly rising of anti-Muslim racism made it necessary to put “intersectionality” into practice even before the term had reached the Federal Republic and its universities. In this way, the term “queer” also came to us faster than for others.

 

Many more discussions, workshops, and networking followed, placing GLADT at the intersection of the fighting against racism, homophobia, transphobia, sexism and other forms of discrimination, making it into a major player in Berlin – and beyond. The uncomfortable role of standing between exclusions in the dominant society and exclusions, for example, from the communities of immigrants, has been turned into resources. The founding of the Immigration Council of Berlin, at the time the only nationwide confederation of immigrant organizations (2004), the symposium “Homophobia in an Immigration Society” (2008), as well as the participation in the initiatives of the State of Berlin for the promotion of sexual and gender diversity, or the Immigration Council’s “Round Table Against Homophobia”, the project “Non-discriminatory Scenes for All”, where racism, sexism, transphobia, and ableism in the Queer context have been and are still being worked on, have made GLADT into a link within debates in the majority society, in the Queer scenes and in the communities of Immigrants, black and people of color.

Geschichte

GLADT ist heute eine Selbstorganisation von Schwarzen Queers und Queers of Color mit und ohne eigene Migrationsgeschichte. Der Verein hat eine lange und wechselvolle Geschichte, die Ende der 1990er Jahre begonnen hat und viele Debatten zu «Queer» und «of Color» in Berlin initiiert und/oder begleitet hat.

 

In vielen deutschen Städten gab es bereits in den 1980er Schwarze und/oder migrantische Einzelpersonen, Gruppen und Netzwerke, die sich mit Fragen des Feminismus, aber auch der Gleichberechtigung von Lesben und Schwulen, später auch von Trans* und Inter* beschäftigt haben.

 

Aus der Berliner Türkgay-Gruppe, die Ende der 1990er Jahre entstanden war, entwickelte sich bis zum Jahr 2003 der Verein GLADT, der schon vor seiner Gründung sowohl Auseinandersetzungen zum Thema Geschlecht(sidentität) als auch Rassismus und Nationalismus führte. Es war längst nicht selbstverständlich, dass eine Gruppe türkischer Schwuler in Bezug auf interne Diversität sensibilisiert war – was bedeutete es, Frau*, Trans* oder kurdisch zu sein? War die Gruppe tatsächlich «offen» für alle, wie sie es behauptete? Außerdem stand zur Debatte, ob der entstehende Verein zu religiösen Fragen Stellung nehmen sollte – die Anschläge vom 11. September 2001 und der im Anschluss daran rapide ansteigende antimuslimische Rassismus machten es erforderlich, sich in der Praxis mit «Intersektionalität» zu beschäftigen, noch bevor der Begriff die Bundesrepublik und ihre Universitäten erreichte. So kam auch der Begriff «Queer» schneller zu uns als zu anderen.

 

Viele weitere Tagungen, Workshops und Vernetzungstreffen folgten, die GLADT an den Schnittstellen der Bekämpfung von Rassismus, Homo- und Transfeindlichkeit, Sexismus und anderen Formen der Diskriminierung positionierten und zu einem wichtigen Akteur in Berlin – und weit darüber hinaus – machten. Die unkomfortable Rolle, zwischen Ausschlüssen in der Dominanzgesellschaft und Ausschlüssen beispielsweise in migrantischen Communities zu stehen, wurde auf diese Weise auch zu einer Ressource. Die Gründung des Migrationsrats Berlin, eines damals bundesweit einmaligen Dachverbands von Migrant*innen-Organisationen (2004), die Fachtagung «Homophobie in der Einwanderungsgesellschaft» (2008), aber auch die Mitarbeit in den Initiativen des Landes Berlin zur Förderung sexueller und geschlechtlicher Vielfalt oder bei den «Runden Tischen gegen Homophobie» beim Migrationsrat oder das Projekt «Diskriminierungsfreie Szenen für alle», wo Rassismus, Sexismus, Trans- und Behindertenfeindlichkeit in queeren Szenen bearbeitet wurden und werden, machten GLADT zu einem Bindeglied von Debatten in der Mehrheitsgesellschaft, in queeren Szenen und in den Communities von Migrant*innen, People of Color und Schwarzen.